An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

185th Names 2019 Airman of the Year

  • Published
  • By Senior Master Sgt. Vincent De Groot
  • 185th Air Refueling Wing

The Iowa Air National Guard’s 185th Air Refueling Wing announced their recipients of Airman of the year for 2019. Airman 1st Class Hannah Christensen, Technical Sgt. Kiel Hamann, Master Sgt. Christine Groves, Master Sgt. Lori Noltze and Airman Jeremiah Jager all received honors.

Airman 1st Class Hannah Christensen was selected as the 185th Air Refueling Wing Airman of the year in her category. Christensen is a traditional guard member who works as a crew chief on the unit’s KC-135 aircraft.

The Non-commissioned officer of the year was awarded to Technical Sgt. Kiel Hamann. Hamann is the 185th ARW aircraft hydraulic shop supervisor.

Senior Non-commissioned officer of the Year was awarded to Master Sgt. Christine Groves. Groves has recently taken over as the 185th ARW base Services Manager.

Master Sgt. Lori Noltze was awarded honors as the 185th ARW First Sergeant of the year. Notze is the first sergeant for the 185th ARW Mission Support Group.

The 185th Air Refueling Wing Honor Guard Member of the year is Airman Jeremiah Jager from the 133rd Test Squadron in Fort Dodge.

These members will go on to compete at the State level competition.