Iowa Air National Guard selects Airmen of the Year  

  • Published
  • By Senior Airman Tylon Chapman
  • 185th Air Refueling Wing

The Iowa Air National Guard announced this week Senior Airman Melissa Netherton, Staff Sgt. Tate Phelps, and Master Sgt. Jessica Bowen have been selected as the state’s 2022 Airmen of the Year. 

Senior Airman Melissa Netherton was selected as Airman of the Year for the junior-enlisted category. Netherton works as a mission manager in the 132 Wing's Intelligence, Surveillance Reconnaissance Group at the Des Moines Air Wing.

Staff Sgt. Tate Phelps is the recipient of the NCO of the Year award for the state. Phelps works full time as an Avionics Technician in the 185th Air Refueling Wing Maintenance Group in Sioux City.

Master Sgt. Jessica Bowen was chosen as the Senior NCO of the Year. Bowen has been working in readiness in the Force Support Squadron but has recently begun working in Human Resources with the 185th Air Refueling Wing in Sioux City.

The appearance of hyperlinks does not constitute endorsement by the 185th Air Refueling Wing, the Iowa Air National Guard, the United States Air Force or the Department of Defense of the external website, or information, products, or services contained therein. For other than authorized activities such as military exchanges and Services/Morale Welfare and Recreation (MWR) sites, the United States Air Force does not exercise editorial control over the information users may find at these locations. Such links are provided consistent with the stated purpose of the website.