Airmen Recognized for Combat Action

  • Published
  • By MSgt. Bill Wiseman
  • 185th ARW Public Affairs
SIOUX CITY, IA - Four members of the Iowa Air Guard's 185th Iowa Air Refueling Wing, Sioux City, Iowa, were awarded the Air Force Combat Action Medal (AFCAM) at a recent ceremony in Sioux City.

Tech. Sgt. Thadeus E. Miller, Staff Sgt. Megan M. Huber, retired Staff Sgt. Jon L. Pinkleman and retired Staff Sgt. Leanna Guevara received the medal at the ceremony.

This is an extremely hard medal to earn, said Col. Brian Miller, commander of the 185th Air Refueling Wing.

The recipients were members of the 185th Air Refueling Wing Security Forces Flight and earned their medals for their actions while deployed in Iraq in support of Operation Enduring Freedom in 2005 and 2006. The Airmen provided security to three separate convoys that were attacked by enemy forces.

The AFCAM may be awarded to any airman from Airman Basic to Colonel that participated in active combat, either on the ground or in the air as part of their official duty. This award, first awarded in 2007, came about as a direct result of the terrorist attacks on September 11, 2001 and the war in Iraq.

The appearance of hyperlinks does not constitute endorsement by the 185th Air Refueling Wing, the Iowa Air National Guard, the United States Air Force or the Department of Defense of the external website, or information, products, or services contained therein. For other than authorized activities such as military exchanges and Services/Morale Welfare and Recreation (MWR) sites, the United States Air Force does not exercise editorial control over the information users may find at these locations. Such links are provided consistent with the stated purpose of the website.