185th ARW selects 2021 Airmen of the Year

  • Published
  • By Airman 1st Class Tylon Chapman
  • 185th Air Refueling Wing

The 185th Air Refueling Wing of the Iowa Air National Guard announced recipients of the unit’s 2021 Outstanding Airmen of the Year award. Senior Airman Natasha Heath, Staff Sgt. Alberto Jurado, Master Sgt. Layne Delperdang, and Master Sgt. Drew Wagner have each been selected in their respective categories.

“The selection process was not easy given the high caliber of the nominees and their contributions to the mission,” said Col. Mark Muckey, 185th Air Refueling Wing Commander.  “The professionalism and talent of each nominee speaks volumes of the character and devotion of our Airmen.”

“I want to congratulate each of our Airmen of the Year,” said Command Chief Master Sgt. Ron Lorenzen, 185th ARW Command Chief. “They are chosen above their peers for their outstanding achievements and contributions as representatives of the Air Force enlisted force.”

Senior Airman Natasha Heath was selected as Airman of the Year for the junior-enlisted category. Heath works in the 185th ARW’s Command Post.

Staff Sgt. Alberto Jurado is the recipient of the NCO of the Year award for the unit. Jurado works in the 185th ARW finance office.

Master Sgt. Layne Delperdang was chosen as the Senior NCO of the Year. Delperdang is the Guidance and Control Supervisor for the Maintenance Squadron at the wing.

The First Sergeant of the Year honor was awarded to Master Sgt. Drew Wagner. Wagner is the First Sergeant for the 185th Mission Support Group.

“This group reflects a diverse group of specialties and they showcase how our Airmen provide vital impact to the mission at all levels,” said Lorenzen. “I feel that they have an excellent opportunity to be the contenders to represent our state.”

The Iowa Air National Guard Headquarters will review and select an individual from each category from the 185th ARW and the 132nd Wing in Des Moines and select the recipients of the state titles.

These statewide recipients will go on to represent the Iowa Air Guard at the Air National Guard’s regional Airmen of the Year competition

The appearance of hyperlinks does not constitute endorsement by the 185th Air Refueling Wing, the Iowa Air National Guard, the United States Air Force or the Department of Defense of the external website, or information, products, or services contained therein. For other than authorized activities such as military exchanges and Services/Morale Welfare and Recreation (MWR) sites, the United States Air Force does not exercise editorial control over the information users may find at these locations. Such links are provided consistent with the stated purpose of the website.