Airmen of the Year selected for 2018

  • Published
  • By Capt. Jeremy J. McClure
  • 185th Air Refueling Wing

The 185th Air Refueling Wing has announced the winners of the unit’s Airmen of Year award for 2018 in four different categories.

Airman 1st Class Marcus Turman has been selected as the Airman of the Year, Tech. Sgt. Megan Vander Molen as the Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year, Master Sgt. Scott Schuler for Senior Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year, and Master Sgt. Trevor Modlin as the 1st Sgt. of the Year.

“We are very humbled by the extraordinary accomplishments of our exceptional Airmen, and greatly appreciate the commitment they bring to assist our Air Guard family, state, and great Nation defend freedom at home and abroad,” said Command Chief Master Sgt. T.J. Fennell.

Turman, a 2013 Hinton Iowa High School graduate, is a Material Management Journeyman and is responsible for managing supplies for the base and ensuring the bases material needs are met. In the last year, he has tracked nearly 250 Mission Capability Support transactions which helped the unit maintain the highest level of mission capability.

Vander Molen is the Mission Support Group Contracting Specialist for the unit. During the year, she deployed in support of Operation Inherent Resolve as the Resource Advisor. During her six month deployment, she managed a $1.5 million budget which resulted in 41 acquisitions to support 3,500 unit members and 75,000 transient personnel.                 

Schuler is the Mission Systems Support Superintendent with the 133rd Test Squadron in Fort Dodge, Iowa. In this role, he supervises the Ground Radar and Radio Frequency Transmissions maintenance sections and is responsible for the Airmen who repair $11 million worth of radar, radio, and satellite communications equipment.

Modlin serves as the 1st Sgt. for the Logistics Readiness Squadron where provides mentoring, professional development, and looks after the overall well-being of Airmen to ensure the unit has a mission ready force.

The selected Airmen will go on to compete at the state level with other Air National Guard members for a chance to compete at the national level for Airman of the Year of the Air National Guard.

The appearance of hyperlinks does not constitute endorsement by the 185th Air Refueling Wing, the Iowa Air National Guard, the United States Air Force or the Department of Defense of the external website, or information, products, or services contained therein. For other than authorized activities such as military exchanges and Services/Morale Welfare and Recreation (MWR) sites, the United States Air Force does not exercise editorial control over the information users may find at these locations. Such links are provided consistent with the stated purpose of the website.